Historical Aircraft

Golden Hawks Trophy


The RCAF Golden Hawks Award
Introduced in 1994, the RCAF Golden Hawks Award honours the famed precision air display team formed in 1959 to mark Canada’s 50th anniversary of powered flight. Flying Canadair-built F-86 Sabres, the team quickly established a world standard for jet aerobatics. The award was specially designed and constructed by Canadair/Bombardier employees for presentation “in recognition of outstanding contributions… in any field of military aviation.” The Golden Hawks were a Canadian aerobatic flying team that was established in 1959 to celebrate the Royal Canadian Air Force’s 35th anniversary and the “Golden” 50th anniversary of Canadian flight, which began with the AEA Silver Dart in 1909. Initially, a six-plane team flying brilliantly-painted metallic-gold Canadair Sabre Mk.5s, was envisioned as performing for only one year, but the Golden Hawks were so popular after their single 63-show season that the team was expanded. In the following year, another plane was added to the team, allowing for a five-plane main formation with two solo jets. The Golden Hawks continued performing for three more seasons, changing to the Mk 6 in 1961, until they were disbanded on 7 February 1964, having flown a total of 317 shows across North America.

Maritime Air Group – 1994

1 Air Maintenance Squadron – 1995

Canadian Airfield Engineering Squadron Operation Pivot UNMIH (Haiti) – 1996

439 Combat Support Squadron – 1997

1 Wing CFB Kingston – 1998

431 Squadron Snowbirds 15 Wing Moose Jaw – 1999

Canadian Task Force Aviano, Italy – 2000

T-33 Ejection Seat Upgrade Project Team – 2001

423 (Maritime Helicopter) Squadron 12 Wing Shearwater – 2003

Captain Jonathan W. … 430 ETAH CFB Valcartier, QC – 2004

407 Maritime Patrol Squadron 19 Wing, Comox, BC – 2005

TUAV Flight 408 Tactical Helicopter Squadron Edmonton – 2006

The Toronto HELAIRDET Op CARIBBE 10 Jan – 18 Feb 2011

The TOR HELAIRDET deployed on OP ARTEMIS 14 Ian 13 — 27 Feb – 2014


The Golden Hawks trophy was established in 1993 to recognize outstanding contributions or highly commendable achievements in any field of military aviation in Canada.