Historical Aircraft

Gordon R. McGregor Memorial Trophy



<Past Ontario Group President and Honorary Group President Major (Ret) Noel Funge, CD, presents the Gordon R. McGregor Trophy to the Commanding Officer 436 Squadron>

First presented at the Association’s silver anniversary convention in 1973, the trophy commemorates the late Gordon R. McGregor, Past Grand President of the Association, in recognition of his pioneering accomplishments in the field of air transportation in Canada. The trophy is presented “in recognition of outstanding and meritorious achievement in the field of air transportation.”

Gordon R. McGregor, OBE, DFC, Commander Order of Orange-Nassau with Swords (The Netherlands), Croix de Guerre with Silver Star (France), War Cross 1939 (Czechoslovakia)


Born in Montreal, Gordon McGregor was just a child when he witnessed the birth of aviation in Quebec at the Lakeside (Pointe-Claire) Air Meet in 1910, featuring the famous Jacques de Lesseps. McGregor earned his private pilot’s licence in 1932 and won the Webster Trophy in 1935, ‘36 and ‘38, awarded to the best amateur pilot in Canada. With war imminent, McGregor joined No. 115 Auxiliary RCAF Squadron (along Hartland Molson), soon amalgamated with No.1 Squadron. At 39, McGregor became the oldest fighter pilot and the top-scoring RCAF ace to serve in the Battle of Britain, with 6 German aircraft destroyed, 7 “probables” and 8 damaged. In April 1941, he was promoted from Squadron Leader to Wing Commander. Noticed for his leadership and managing skills, McGregor was given various command posts in the Pacific zone following the Japanese attack on Dutch Harbor, Alaska. In 1944, he was recalled to England to prepare for the invasion of Normandy. Lead by McGregor, No. 216 Wing was the first unit to base itself permanently on the continent after D-Day, moving in only four days 18 squadrons – 15 of which were Canadian – to six hastily prepared sites, totalling 216 Spitfires and Typhoons. In the months that followed until the final victory, his wing was the most successful of all. Returning to Canada in late 1945, McGregor was immediately hired by Trans Canada Air Lines (TCA) as General Traffic Manager in Montreal. Only two years later, in February 1948, he was appointed TCA President, a post he held until retirement 20 years later. In 1953, he was also elected IATA President. Under his inspired leadership, TCA grew into one of the ten top air carriers in the world, offering by 1950 flights to London, New York and the Caribbean, then to Paris (1951) and Düsseldorf (1953). McGregor supported the selection of modern and comfortable new aircraft such as the Super Constellation (1954), the Viscount (1955), the jet-powered DC-8 (1960) and DC-9 (1966). Claiming international status for TCA, he was the driving force behind the change of name to Air Canada in 1965.


Major D.M. Campbell, CD, 413 Rescue Squadron – 1973

Captain Charles H. Simpson, Air Canada – 1974

Walter R. Ross, Time Air Ltd – 1975

R. M. (Bill) Kidd, Senneville, QC – 1976

Lieutenant-General W.K. Carr, CMM, DFC, CD Commander Air Command – 1977

Maxwell W. Ward, Wardair – 1979

Claude Taylor – President Air Canada – 1980

Harry Halton – Canadair – 1981

J. D. MacNaughton, Senior Vice-President SPAR Aerospace Ltd – 1983

Crew of Flight 797, Air Canada, DFW – CVG, 2 June 1983 – 1984

Dr. Marc Garneau – 1985

Lieutenant-Colonel Ray Brown, CD, Ethiopian Relief Ops Air Transport Group – 1988

Wally Warner (Boeing/de Havilland) 413 Squadron Summerside – 1989

Mrs. Sonia Hartwick, Air Ontario – 1990

Air Transport Group, Gulf War, 1991

437 (Transport) Squadron – 1992

Air Transport Group – 1994

BC Ministry of Forests, Air Tanker Centre – 1995

Air Command – 1997

8 Wing Trenton – 1999

Airlift Control Elements, Edmonton & Macedonia – 2000

437 (Transport) Squadron – 2001

1 Air Movements Squadron 17 Wing Winnipeg – 2002

Captain Rod. C. Lanning, Pilot 435 (TR) Squadron 17 Wing – 2003

Camp Mirage Theatre Support Element Team Operation Athena, Kabul – 2004

429 (Transport) Squadron – 2005

437 (Transport) Squadron & Air Canada Maintenance Team – 2006

2 Air Movements Squadron – 2007

429 (Transport) Squadron – 2008

440 (Transport) Squadron – 2009

2 Air Movements Squadron – 2010

2 Air Movements Squadron – 2012

2 Air Movements Squadron – 2013

436 (Transport) Squadron – 2014

Calgary Airport Authority – 2016